Melancholia (2011)

What can I say about the new Lars Von Trier: Melancholia.

It stars Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg as sisters, as well as Kiefer Sutherland (24), Alexander Skarsgård (True Blood) and Stellan Skarsgård (Breaking the Waves) .

There are 3 parts to the movie: the intro, and 2 chapters on the sisters.

Now I could go and tell you everything on this movie and spoil it for you. But I prefer not to. I didn’t read up on anything before seeing it at the cinema. Not even a review. In my experience, that spoils it for me. And I must say, that this is a really good movie, if you let it come to you as it is. As majestically as the intro might be, I can say that the chapters on the sisters are very … earthy. And good acting. Even though it might have been Penélope Cruz who should have starred, Kirsten Dunst really merits her prize at Cannes. She is perfect for the part of Justine.

So I just leave you with the trailer, but do know, as ordinary as this trailer might look, the extraordinary the movie itself is.

So far, I have seen 6 movies by von Trier, each as different as the last one:

Maybe what happened at Cannes this year was a publicity stunt, I don’t know. It would just be a shame to me that someone would go that far. I think it’s all pulled out of context, as things usually are when you quote someone at a party. Melancholia is definitely worth seeing. It would be a pity if it wasn’t seen because of that.

Here is what I already posted on Von Trier: Lars Von Trier movies.

Leave a Reply

