Oh to be a domestic godess!

To say I’m a princess in the kitchen would be a lie. I cook to survive.  🙂

I am interested in the art of gastronomy on a plate. It looks good, it smells good, and food tastes good. I’m a big fan. But when it comes to getting it done, I’m not always able to do well.

I can do wonders with minced meat, olives, onions, carrots, whip up a spicy tomato sauce with it… and present it with flair.

Just now, I’m searching for recipes for fish dishes (decided that Tuesdays and Fridays will be fish-menu-days) and thankfully most sites have search engines with “difficulty”-levels! If only I knew more kinds of fish besides the “it has fins and goes blurb doesn’t it?”-kind.

Something I noticed since I got my place, is that I cannot stand it to have a quiet kitchen. It makes me nervous. And come to think of it… mom always has her radio playing in the kitchen. I need to have music. But due to the size of my kitchen (I’ve known tool boxes to have more room), and all the stuff I put in it… there simply is no room to put a radio. So I listen to the iPod. I cook with headphones on. And besides the occasional accident with the headphones cord getting stuck behind things (that’s me!), it makes me happy to cook that way.

I’ve tried several genres of music. Until now what works well are the Kaiser Chiefs (Yours Truly, Angry Mob), though Joss Stone is a great one when making salads. But nothing makes you chop up onions and carrots better than “Highroyds”, I think. Pearl Jam is also a good one, the self titled album or Binaural.

So I wonder actually, if there are other people who also need a noisy kitchen, like me? Cause let me tell you, it helps to have background noises when you drop the darn spoons again for the umpteenth time. It makes it less obvious (or I’m deceiving myself in thinking so…).

Leave a Reply

