Still looking for that pearly oyster

In order to get things a bit sorted on this blog, I’ve been proof reading some of my old posts that have been put under Uncategorized, since my merge to WordPress from Blogger. (Nearly all nicely categorized!).

And I stumbled on this post I had written after I had done my final presentation on my internship in my graduation year at college:

https://faberadatch.wordpress.com/2007/06/20/after-the-countdown

If you read it, after the link (there’s a nice Calvin & Hobbes comic to start the post, I wrote on what it would be like after graduating and looking for my first job. More than 3 years on, I can only say this:

If I knew now what I knew back then, I’d be living in ignorant bliss; but unfortunately I know now what I didn’t know back then and that’s a bit unfortunate.

I knew I would have to put up with a lot of things, but there are still surprises every day. Communication is key. Words! As Auden put it “Words like axes” or was it Sylvia Plath? Indeed: Plath! (Gosh I do miss those English Poetry classes!)

Axes
After whose stroke the wood rings,
And the echoes!
Echoes traveling
Off from the center like horses.
The sap
Wells like tears, like the
Water striving
To re-establish its mirror
Over the rock
That drops and turns,
A white skull,
Eaten by weedy greens.
Years later I
Encounter them on the road
Words dry and riderless,
The indefatigable hoof-taps.
While
From the bottom of the pool, fixed stars
Govern a life.
(Poet: Sylvia PlathPoem: Words – Volume: The Collected Poems –Year: Published/Written in 1963 )

– and no, after this poem I’m not going to put my head in any oven (like Plath) unless it is to check if the chocolate cake is done!

Every day is a battle with words, interpretation of others or by others, words with intent, words with ulterior motives, hurtful words, complementing words, lying words… It still amazes me every day how words/communication can be so influential on making or breaking a project. So indeed, they can be like axes.

Well, behind my desk, I sometimes do believe everything seemed more promising back in college. The world as my oyster, ready to be picked and opened, to find that pearl… but as it is, sometimes you have to go out and pick several ones to get to that pearl (if there even is one, maybe it’s a con!). But still. Nothing lost. Future’s filled with oysters. Who knows; in 3 years time, I look back very differently at this period. Maybe I’ll be still blogging then too,  to comment about it. :p

One thought on “Still looking for that pearly oyster

  1. Tyron Stymiest

    I get here from yahoo, but unfortunately I’m not found what I was seeing for. But this is a great post. Regards for this post, I am a big fan of this internet site would like to go along updated. Thx!

Leave a Reply

