The Godfather, part II (1974)

I had never seen a Godfather movie, though it seems it’s something everybody knows, has seen and quotes from. Even the music has been used in so many ways as a nod to the Godfather.

So as I posted, a while ago I saw part II which deals with Micheal Corleone (Al Pacino) who has to lead “the family”, but it starts off with how his father, Vito Corleone (Robert De Niro), came to America and has become the Godfather.

So while the main story is about Micheal who has to lead the family, take care of his sister Connie and brother Fredo, prevent an attack within the family and go about a deal with Hyman Roth, a Jew with whom his father, Vito, had dealt with as well.

The second story line that runs through by the use of flashbacks is how Vito, having arrived in New York, has made a life for himself and through occurrences gotten step by step to the life of crime that would get him the respect of the Italian community and the power to head the “family”.

Diane Keaton plays Micheal Corleone’s wife. Robert Duvall plays his lawyer and second hand.

I enjoyed this movie (which was longer than I expected) because the family business was intreaging. I was surprised to hear Al Pacino and Robert De Niro talk Italian for most of the movie. I liked that and liked to listen to it.

It goes without saying that I’m curious now about part I. How Marlon Brando fits with the young version of Vito I’ve seen in part II. I’ll have to go and rend it.

Leave a Reply

