Heather Nova in concert!!! Yeay!

 Last night I went with my sister to the concert of Heather Nova, here in the Ancienne Belgique concert venue. I had already posted on her here: Sugar, sugar in my throat .

For a bio, I invite you to go to her official website. I can just say she is a singer-songwriter (mostly indie) and a poet, born in Bermuda. She has 7 albums (I think…) , of which I have 5. It’s been 2 years since she was on tour. Last night in Brussels, it was her second concert of the tour. Glad to be back in Brussels, she did compare the Ancienne Belgique venue to a set of a Mad Max movie, with the balcony’s a bit like the cages seen in that film. And you know what, it is.

I was really exited about this concert, and my excitement was rewarded. The voice on her, it is amazing. She can really sing, and I mean really. Her live performances are great. I saw her about 10 years ago, I believe it was, together with my sister on the Marktrock festival in Leuven. It was raining then, but that didn’t stop her from rocking. And I feel that her liver performances are always edgier than her albums. Her guitarist gives her all, and that is what makes the concert such an experience. And though Heather’s voice usually sounds like a siren from the deepest oceans, fragile and mesmerizing… it can be raw and downright breath stopping. I get goosebumps every time she sings Island.

I can’t remember all the tracks she performed. I believe only 2 or 3 were from her upcoming album, not yet available here in Belgium.

What I remembered she played:

  • Heal
  • Head and shoulder
  • Blood of me
  • Someone new
  • Fool for you
  • Renegade
  • I wanna be your light
  • London Rain (Nothing heals like you do)
  • Motherland
  • Not only human
  • Island
  • Paper cup
  • Redbird (but I’m not sure about that)
  • Winterblue
  • Walk this world
  • All I need
  • Like lovers do
  • Beautiful storm (new track)

I don’t care what others think or say. In the end, it’s your own opinion and taste that counts. I think Heather Nova rocks and her concert will be a beautiful memory of mine. Thank you, sister-in-crime, to have invited me. You rock too (not to forget!).

Leave a Reply

