Happy mother’s day

I hope mothers everywhere have had a nice mother’s day. Though every day ought to be mother’s day, seeing how much they have to take from their hubby and kids.

Multitasking is their key:

  • clean (even though 15 minutes later someone walks in and makes a mess all over again),
  • cook (usually 5 different dishes cause there is always someone who doesn’t like either beans, cheese sauce, leeks or any vegetable really) ,
  • do the shopping (and not forget a single thing or know she’ll get a handful at home if she does),
  • be able to fix things (electrical, wooden or otherwise),
  • be a nurse to fix booboo’s, scratches and hammer incidents by hubby,
  • not be afraid of spiders (cause when kid screams bloody murder when seeing one in bedroom, she has to go on the hunt after the 8-legged creature with some poise),
  • be a magician with needle and thread to sow on missing buttons (after looking for them when they dropped in the most impossible corners of the house),
  • keep a budget with teenagers nagging for cash every day,

… motherhood. And they say it’s not a job! So one lousy day a year to be treated like a princess is not enough, really.

But mothers are more than just the things they do. Mothers shape their kids. Make them conscious. Mothers are love and are caring. (The statement before is just a personal observation – I do not state that this is generally the case, so if it isn’t, are you in need of a hug?)

My mother and I, we have our differences. We don’t always see eye to eye. And the ability to let a subject go, we both don’t posses. So we have that in common. We both are stubborn. But we can talk. About important things as well. We laugh together. Our sense of humour is very much alike. My hight, I have from her, as well as my tendency to get confused. Every idiom I say incorrectly I mainly learned from her. That tells something of her influence on my vocabulary. It happens very often that we say the same thing at the same time. While other times we are on a different wavelength all together. Her nurturing ability I also seem to have gotten from her. To consider others and respect. I admire her strength. I can only hope to be half the woman she is in my lifetime.

One thought on “Happy mother’s day

Leave a Reply

