and…ACTION!

These past couple of days I got glimps at what it is like to work on a set, thanks to my amazing film boy. Initially I only got some little peeks on how it went about. But yesterday I got to experience it not only as a quiet, “in the background” and very brief observer. I got to be one of the crew!

Being on a set, even of a short movie, still felt like something very out of the ordinary (positively meant). Cause you are trying in a sense to recreate life, recreate reality in an unreal way. Things get accentuated with a purpose. To tell something, to allude or to draw attention. Some things on the other hand are larger than life. Not acceptable in reality, but because it is on film it works. You can find it beautiful or intreaging. I guess that is the magic of it all. That with enough creativity, you can make almost anything you like. Tell anything you like. As long as you are consequent and logical in how you go about it.

cartoon: source http://www.trewaudio.com

To me, this was a very fun experience. I’m not going to lie. Shooting scenes is repetitious. You try out things; see if they work; see if you can get from the actors the intent or story-telling you imagine as a director/writer. It’s a very stressful experience in that sense. It’s also, but that’s my opinion, build on trust. Trust in the crew, trust in the script, trust in the director and trust in being able to help one another out. Being in close quarters many hours for several days is in itself a very unreal situation. You almost have no personal space but have to depend on one another as a team none the less, throughout moments of frustration. But when things are fun, shots are good and things work out, it’s a very special thing to experience.

right: It’s the type of mixer I got very familiar with during my sound-girl-day. My headphones and my little machine with the many flickering lights…
  

Now I know that my days as sound girl are just a “one-off”. That it is very possible that I will never ever set foot on a set as crew member again. I am still feeling pretty blessed I got to. My contribution might not have been big. But I was a link in the chain that made the project happen. (Dear lord, I do hope that the sound I mixed that day will not be the worst of the entire period of shooting!). Cause every member is vital: director of photography/cameraman, light guy, sound guy … and you are not necessarily pinned to that one job, you have to take consequences of your job in account and see, anticipate and solve problems as a group.

I don’t know. Maybe I’m just buzzed cause I got shared a very special experience like the creation of a short movie, but I liked every bit of it. The tough times, the fun times… everything.

4 thoughts on “and…ACTION!

  1. Fab

    I would never have thought in my life I would ever experience a behind the scene moment. Let alone be playing a small active part in it. It was precious to me. I’ll never forget it.

  2. Fab

    Lol! Of course, things get glorified a lot. So after the build up, you get a “nah” feeling. It’s often the case. Did you find a hotdog vendor near the Grand Canyon in the end?

  3. Stewart Sternberg

    I always wanted to know more about the film industry. I mean the nuts and bolts on the set. Of course, when you read about it, it all sounds so incredibly boring. Life is like that…I once went to the Grand Canyon. While everyone else ooohed and aahhhed, I took a quick look around, nodded, and then went off in search of a hotdog.

Leave a Reply

