The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (2005)

Ok, first real post of the new year and oh Lord: it’s sci-fi related!!

But don’t panic: it’s a comedy, so that makes up for it. Oh who am I kidding, I like sci-fi (only, yes, the kind that makes me laugh, that I have to admit.)

But first: a very a-typical movie trailer:

I know I’ll spoil this for you, but no: there is no woman in bikini or excessive explosions in this movie, which the trailer here promises. They’re cheeky! Making you believe that.

I was watching The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy my brother recorded from the BBC round Christmas time. Not having read the books (this adaptation was from the author Douglas Adams), I only half knew what I was getting myself into. I had some fears that I might not like it – but ” au contraire”, it was entertaining and laugh out loud funny.

PLOT:
Opening scene: a narrator (Stephen Fry) tells us that all along dolphins have tried to tell us something, but we, human kind, thinking to be the most intelligent life form on Earth – misunderstood their attempts on telling us the end of the world was coming for entertaining tricks. (Now you know that the plot entails the destruction of the world. But aha! How will it be done!)

The main character, Arthur, is desperately trying to avoid his house being destroyed for a new highway passage by lying in front of the bulldozers. Little does he know, that is the main reason the Earth will be destroyed: to build an interstellar highway passage. (Have I lost you already, dear reader?). He finds himself suddenly hitchhiking the warning/destruction ship and finds himself to be the second last survivor of Earth…. after that, all things go pear-shaped… and funny things happen (yeah well, plot is too difficult to explain, and there are ample sites who do it better than I can.)

OPINION:
I was surprised to find it a mainly British kind of movie, or the feel to it was so anyway. That took me a bit off guard.

I must admit I was only attracted by the cast (although some only do voice over’s or have a small part).

  • The narrator is Stephen Fry, or who I call ‘the renaissance man’ cause he does so much: comedian, actor, writer, filmmaker, presenter on tv, …
  • Sam Rockwell, who in Galaxy Quest (2000) played Crewman N°6, plays here the President of the Galaxy and has kidnapped himself and stolen a space ship called The Heart of Gold.
  • He is joined by another Galaxy Quest actor (also Harry Potter, Love Actually…), Alan Rickman who does the voice over for the manic-depressive robot.
  • Bill Nighy plays a coast line designer at the place where planets are made on command…
  • John Malcovich as the leader of a cult on a planet that worships tissues….

I see myself writing these things and can’t help feeling how strange it all sounds. But when you see the movie it all makes sense… in a way….

So if you like sci-fi and don’t take it too seriously, you like humour and funny situations or you just are in need of some entertainment: then this will certainly fill those needs.

2 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (2005)

  1. Fab

    The problem is that I have not been able to compare. I don’t know the series, nor have I read the books… I would not say this is a great movie, but it had some laughs. But more than that it is not.

Leave a Reply

