Ginger Ale “Rules of the market”: a video

I posted a bit on the French band Ginger Ale 2 posts ago. I explained there how I discovered them and tried with great effort to find more. I now am listening with obsession to their album Daggers Drawn (2006) (French link) . I have several favorite tracks but only found this on YouTube: Rules of the market. I know it is easy to just post a video instead of writing – but music needs to be heard and less talked about.

The band members are Stéphane Bertrand and Angèle David-Guillou. The singer, Angèle, also had a solo project this year under the name of Klima. On her MySpace I recommend the track “Lady of the Lake”.

The style of this type of music is hard for me to describe or put into a box. Indie? rock? pop? electro? I just like her voice a lot – and having a thing with voices (Robert Smith of The Cure, Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode, Johnny Cash…) I just had to hear more from this band.

So here is (not a very original video – just a performance) Ginger Ale “Rules of the market”.

“we like your music” he said “and we’re gonna make a star of you
of course we know you can sing and play but you dress like an undertaker, that’s for sure
we thought you’d look better with a mini skirt on and maybe a pink bra, or maybe a black one”
is this a nightmare?, I thought, when do I wake up?
I don’t care I don’t care what you want me to be
I am me, I am me, I am no pawn in your game you see
you don’t seem to understand my play – there’s no way for me to be another product for sale
“and I suppose you know the rules of the market
people want to understand what the lyrics are about
and of course it’d be a great artistic challenge
so would you please try and use your mother tongue somehow”
I can swear like the French, I thought, but instead left them with their vile business chat
I don’t care, I don’t care, ….
4 thoughts on “Ginger Ale “Rules of the market”: a video

  1. Fab

    I so wanted to attend your Enterprise Christmas Party but fear to be a poor writer and a terrible visitor to your site; I read but only post on the weekend questions – does this make me worthy? I feel I may not be.

Leave a Reply

