Das Leben der Anderen (2006) (The Lives of Others)

Last Sunday I went to a very nice and lovely movie theatre I hadn’t known existed before. There they show a lot of movies that aren’t mainstream. Here I saw a German movie (my second in this lifetime) called Das Leben der Anderen (or The Lives of Others).
This movie won an Academy Award for best foreign movie and a lot of other nominations.
It is set in East Berlin before the fall of the wall. The government, Stasi, monitor the cultural scene for revolutionaries. This is why a screenwriter and a theatre actress are being monitored and their appartment is being bugged.
But the agent Wiesler, who we know from the start to be a hard man and very good at his job and interrogating people, becomes fascinated by them, starts caring for them, and tries to cover for the couple when they do something to start the revolution…
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. It doesn’t have a Hollywood pace, so most won’t like it. But it is so very human and down to earth. The humour is very subtle and you will get a big shock in this movie (although you can anticipate it – I still was shocked).
I can only recommend this movie for seeing it at least once in your life.
2 thoughts on “Das Leben der Anderen (2006) (The Lives of Others)

  1. Jean-Luc Picard

    Fab, I already have this on DVD, and thought it was brilliant. I couldn’t believe how good it was.Another German film by the same company I would recommend is ‘Sophie Scholl: The Final Days’

Leave a Reply

