Anton Corbijn: photographer extraordinaire

I was cleaning out my wallet and getting rid of the excess in pieces of paper, when I suddenly found a ticket to the museum of photography of Antwerp. I forgot I had it. A year or so ago I went to an exhibition of the photographer Anton Corbijn with my sister.

Anton Corbijn is from The Netherlands and is known for directing videos for Depeche Mode (Devotional / Exiter tour) and U2 and the artwork involved. He has photographed a lot of musicians and actors, but instead of choosing a stylized look, his photographs tend to be raw and put the subject often in an a-typical setting. I like his style a lot.

He has photographed Metallica, Anthony Kiedis, Johnny Cash, Danny De Vito, Madness, Joy Division, Kate Bush, Bruce Springsteen, Bauhaus, Nicolas Cage, David Bowie, Massive Attack, Therapy?, The Killers, Kraftwerk, Kylie Minogue … the list is too long.

I enjoyed the exhibition in Antwerp, but was a bit disappointed that it was so small. A name like his deserved more than just two halls. Besides, most of the exhibited pictures I already knew from the photo book we have. I was hoping for different work to be exhibited.

You can check out his official website and click on the images to get info on the shot.

One thought on “Anton Corbijn: photographer extraordinaire

Leave a Reply

