The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett

This is my 23rd novel by Terry Pratchett and it was a kick!

PLOT:

Commander Vimes of the Anhk-Morpork City Watch is appointed Ambassador to attend a coronation in Uberwald. Reluctantly he goes, but as was to be expected, crime followed him closely. A theft, several murders, dwarfs, vampires, werewolves and even a talking dog … and then there’s the legend of the Fifth Elephant to consider.

This novel has suspense and a lot of humor. Maybe not ‘laugh out loud’, but you will surely be grinning a lot. Especially when Vimes tries a hand at diplomacy. The characters are a lot of fun.

Even though his novels with the City Watch as lead aren’t my favorites (I prefer Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax), this was real fun. I know I haven’t given you a lot to go on to get you interested, but it’s up to you to discover. Some of Pratchett’s novels read easier than others (I just can’t get through Monstrous Regiment, and that is a n°1 classic!).

You want to know more? Go to TerryPratchettbooks.com or to: http://www.harpercollins.com/features/pratchettBooks/description.aspx?isbn=9780061020407

6 thoughts on “The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett

  1. Fab

    Ok, but don’t shoot me if you don’t like it! I found that one a bit hard to get into. What you should also be aware of is that Pratchett intended the Discworld series as a parody on fantasy. Now he is considered a master of fantasy. Poor guy.

  2. SQT

    I picked up The Color of Magic today since it was the first in the discworld series. Plus, they had it at the used bookstore– always a plus.

  3. Fab

    If I remember that one correctly, it’s with the wizard Rincewind, who can’t even spell wizzard (!!). He’s a poor slob who is a recurring character in several novels. It’s not easy being Rincewind.

  4. SQT

    No worries. I just like to start at the beginning. Parodies sometimes work for me but not always. I do like his “big bang” theory though.

Leave a Reply

