Must see movie: High fidelity (2000)

If there is one film I could recommend, it would be High Fidelity (2000), starring John Cusack, Jack Black, Tim Robins … based on the novel of the same title (1995) by Nick Hornby.

Cusack plays Rob Gordon, a record store owner in his 30s whose girlfriend Laura (Hjejle) has just left him. At the record shop — named Championship Vinyl — Rob and his employees Dick (Louiso) and Barry (Black) spend their free moments discussing mix-tape aesthetics and constructing “top-five” lists of anything that demonstrates their knowledge of music.
Rob, recalling his five most memorable breakups, sets about getting in touch with the former girlfriends, including Charlie (Zeta-Jones) and Sarah (Taylor). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Fidelity_(film)

If you like music, great dialogues and good actors: this is the movie to rent (or buy)!

Here are some quotes to get you hungry for more: http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/High_Fidelity

quote 1

“Should I bolt every time I get that feeling in my gut when I meet someone new?
Well, I’ve been listening to my guts since I was 14 years old, and frankly speaking, I’ve come to the conclusion that my guts have shit for brains.” Rob (John Cusack)

quote 2

Dick: It guess it looks as if you’re reorganizing your records. What is this though? Chronological?
Rob: No…
Dick: Not alphabetical…
Rob: Nope.
Dick: What?
Rob: Autobiographical.
Dick: No fuckin’ way.

quote 3

Customer: Hi, do you have the song “I Just Called To Say I Love You?” It’s for my daughter’s birthday.
Barry: Yea we have it.
Customer: Great great… Well, can I have it?
Barry: No, you can’t.
Customer: Why not?!
Barry: Because it’s sentimental tacky crap that’s why. Do we look like a store that sells “I Just Called to Say I Love You”? Go to the mall!
Customer: What’s your problem?!
Barry: Do you even know your daughter? There’s no way she likes that song! Oh oh oh wait! Is she in a coma?

2 thoughts on “Must see movie: High fidelity (2000)

  1. CMrok93

    Very funny and very painful. John Cusack was beyond perfect for this role, The guy-centered relationship drama has become recent favorite of mine, as lately I’ve seen a number of great movies from the genre. High Fidelity is as good as any of the others that I’ve seen, and I’d recommend it to anyone. The novel is so much better though. Good review, check out mine when you can!

  2. Fab

    Hi CMrok93! Thanks for stopping by and for liking my review. I can’t help but like John Cusack movies. Even if the rest is off, he usually saves it with a good performance. I’ll stop by your blog for your review. I still haven’t read the book and do think it’s high time I do!

Leave a Reply

